Game 50- 9/27/12 – Sox vs. Rays (In honor of Devin)

So here it is.  My 50th game this summer. White Sox are 1 down for 1st place and are battling for their lives. And my game partner is also my partner in life, my live-in girlfriend Devin. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Devin decided that she wanted to go to this game because it was NIU night and we also knew it was gonna be my 50th. The Sox and NIU are both instrumental in our relationship so it was a nice way to celebrate game number 50. We went early to enjoy some beers in the lot with fellow NIU alum Brian, Kristie Lynn, Natalie and Brad. Brian brought the good beers for Devin and I pounded Bush Lights, like every good kid from the Sauk Valley does.

It was also Lily’s first game, she is an NIU baby from Brian and Kristie.  So my 50th was her first ever. Pretty sweet if ya ask me.

So it was set up for a great time.  My friends Bridget and Sam met us in there and so did another Brian who dates my cousin’s wife’s sister.  Ha.  We didn’t see him, but he was there for support.  I filled out a survey earlier and the Sox gave me two free tickets in the lowers, we sat by the bullpen.  Thanks Sox!

I got an Italian combo for dinner, which was great. Before we sat down we ran into Victor E. Huskie and Southpaw was right up the way.  We walked up to them and got a pic. Which Southpaw RT’d later. Thanks buddy!

The White Sox also RT’d my message before the game which was great to see-

So back to Devin. She has been very supportive this summer of my quest, which I am very thankful for.  I am also very thankful for her being in my life.  She just provides me with what I have been looking for all my life.  It’s been a great year plus with her and it only gets better.  So thanks Devin for taking an underemployed artist in and loving me all the same. I love ya and can’t imagine my life without you.

Unbeknownst to me, there was a plan this night and it came up in the 3rd inning.  I had just joked with Devin that she should be watching the scoreboard cause there might be a message up there for her.  And then this came up-

So thank you Bridget and your cousin! That was a great treat and a sight to behold.  I saw on a message board that someone saw it and knew what it meant, so that was cool too.  I made the scoreboard! It was a great night.  Just wish the Sox would have played better.  Jake pitched a decent game, but we just didn’t have the energy or hitting to win this one.  Still a great night spent with my love and friends on a cool night in September.

So thank you to EVERYONE that helped me achieve this goal.  It was a great summer, and even though the result wasn’t what I wanted, I still had a great time.  My 50th was as much fun as my 1st, and that is all that matters.

Game 50- $364 ($1, I already bought a ticket for the game. Thanks Smart Circle!)

Leave a Reply

